How to get a Driver’s Abstract at LTO


My sister works in Canada as a caregiver. She’s been there for five months now and seems to be having the time of her life (Sucks for me!). But, as your regular bunso in the family who lives in the city, I often get asked to run errands for her especially government-related ones. Last month, she asked me to get a Driving Abstract at LTO. Huh? What the hell is that? What do you need it for?

According to her, a Driving Abstract is like a short report (hence, the name ‘abstract’) on the driving history of a person. It normally contains details of the license, when it was issued, when it will expire, and when it was renewed (if it was). The important details it should include are history or events of accidents involving the license holder, ticket issuance and reasons thereof, and any form of rule breaking.

Like the good sister that I am, I went to LTO without bringing anything. I didn’t use my brain for research so as usual, I didn’t get what I needed. According to the employee, the only requirement for a Driver’s Abstract is a photocopy of the Driver’s License. The term they use for Driver’s Abstract is “LTO Certification”.

I researched online but didn’t get anything direct from LTO’s website. Here’s what I found. I’m not really sure if this is the certification I’m talking about but it’s the closest. I asked my sister to e-mail the requirements. She’ didn’t know her TIN anymore so I just disregarded it. After having a copy of her license emailed to me, I went back. Here is a step-by-step guide of what I did.

1. Proceed to Window 10 of the main building (not the place where licenses are taken). It’s the one behind the pedestrian gate. Just follow the covered path and turn left. The place is like a chapel/hall with lots of electric fans that aren’t working.

2. Submit the photocopy of the license to the goon-looking guy (Yeah! I’m bashing him because of the kind of treatment he gave me. That scum!). He will have you fill out a form about the license holder which he should assess upon completion. He didn’t ask me about the TIN so I’m guessing it’s not really that important.

3. Submit the assessed form and your payment at the window beside Window 10. It’s labelled “Cashier”. A Driving Abstract or Certification costs PhP100.00. The lady will return the paper to Window 10 and you’ll have to wait again for an hour or more to get the Certification. They’ll just announce the license holder’s name through the speaker.

4. Check your document if the details are correct and if there’s a signature where it should be. If something’s wrong or missing, just return it to Window 10 (Mind you, mine didn’t have a signature on it).

From my own experience, I arrived at Window 10 at around 10:30am and got the Driver’s Abstract at 2pm. Yes, that’s how long a piece of paper takes to be printed at LTO. Here’s a photo of my sister’s Certification. I just edited out some details for her safety (hehe!).

LTO Certification

Hope this helps some of you. Good luck! I’m sure we’re already used to the kind of service our dear government gives us. God bless the Philippines.

